OC/CO/ which is which?

Hi sorry I don’t know really how to do this forum thing, this is my first time,

I use the term Officer Commanding for the “boss” at our squadron but apparently the term Commanding Officer is also used and I don’t know if they both work or you use one for different situations. Nobody has corrected me yet so maybe I’m doing it right or people just don’t know idk. Hope this makes sense and I’ve used this correctly.
P.s. sorry for any gramma or spelling mistakes.

Was told some time ago that anyone can be an Officer Commanding. I.E. An Officer who is Commanding a formation of people.

The term Commanding Officer, was for those who had the power of redress. Someone who could hire and fire, so to say.

Therefore I was under the impression that a Squadron Commander was an OC, where as an Wing Commander for a wing, or a Group Captain as a regional commandant, was a Commanding Officer.

Happy to be corrected.

Officer Commanding (OC) is the correct term for RAFAC Squadron Commanders as they are subordinate unit commanders of a larger formation. Commanding Officer (CO) is usually reserved for commanders of larger unit formations, in our case each ATC Wing. See attached for short definition of what constitutes a unit that would be a CO command .

MB

1 Like

But since the hiring and firing in our Organisation is usually the Regional Commandant wouldn’t they be the top formation with Wing Commanders being OC’s?

Particularly since the quote above said an “RAF Station” which would usually be under a Group Captain and the Group Captain is also the DDH.

Welcome to ACC :slight_smile:

In practice, they’re often used interchangeably and most people don’t really know/care about the difference.

1 Like