To be or not to be OC Sqn

Evening.

I am a 20 year old Pilot Officer and I have been asked to take over a squadron. I am leaning towards doing it, but I would appreciate any advice from past and present OC Sqns here on the ups and downs of it all.

Thanks

Ask yourself a question; are they asking you because they need someone, or are they asking you because they want you?

Don’t feel obliged to give up that much of your life.

2 Likes

Best thing I ever did! I was 20 when I took over my squadron and love every minute. Sure there are admin burdens and occasional wing staff nonsense, but I can’t get enough. Being able to mold the squadron in my image is great. We started with 5 cadets every night and now parade 30+.

You do hear about some young officers taking on too much too soon, but as long as you stay grounded and remember the ATC is not everything(!) then you should be fine.

If you ever get stuck, ask your Wing staff, other squadron OCs or other junior officers who are in similar positions.

I cannot recommend it enough! Go for it!

3 Likes

I recently took over a squadron (well 3 years ago!) when I was young (21) and it was good but challenging. The first year was the hardest, but once you get things going it is a lot easier. Just stick to what you believe in and stick to your morals.

Even with the challenges I really enjoy it. Like @TimSqn, I started with few cadets and now things are going better, we often have 20 cadets a night. It can be hard to start, but once you acknowledge that it is your squadron and you treat it as such, it can be great. Just remember, you call the shots, but respect your staffs opinions. There will be hard decisions, but that is your job and there may not always be an easy solution, so if you can deal with that I am sure you will be fine! If you have support from other officers in your area that can make things easier too!

Good luck with it!