Teacher CI/SNCO

Hi all,

I am a teacher and hoping to get involved with my local sqn. I was a cadet when I was younger and want to be able to give back/get involved. Sadly a medical condition prevented me from joining the RAF, but I’d love to get my av-geek fix via the ATC.

I am wondering if there are any other teachers on here who are CI/Uniformed staff? I would love to be a SNCO, however noticed some people mentioning that courses are usually in term time. Do you know if any Wings tend to run courses in school holidays for adults at all?

Thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

Welcome to the forum and hopefully to the RAFAC. I’m not a teacher but have been on a Sqn with a teacher as one of the uniformed staff and they had no problems with booking courses outside of term time.

Everyone I’ve met in the RAFAC is conscious of the pressures on teachers during term time and have always been happy to work round that.

2 Likes

Thank you for your response, that is great to hear!

I am fortunate to be at a school with extended holidays so hopefully can fit some camps in. Luckily I only have myself to worry about so wanting to get stuck in!

Side note question… how long on average do sqn’s like adults to be CI’s before going for a uniformed role? The drill, lessons, shooting aspect obviously appeals to me and were the things I loved doing when I was in cadets, but I want to be realistic in how quickly I could get to that point… I scored the highest in my wing history for the JNCO course and would say that I am very switched on from a leadership perspective - not that I am tooting my own horn :joy:

Technically our rules allow us to go straight in to being an SNCO, but not all places know or want this.

Don’t forget the CCF are mainly teachers so some courses will be run outside of term time to accommodate them attending as well.

Good luck!

3 Likes

Good to see the interest. :wink: