Car insurance fun

So in the process of returning, as a uniforned CFAV this time round, with car insurance due soon I decided to look into things to make sure I’d be properly covered.

Last time round as a CI I didn’t need to upgrade the policy as a volunteer but as that was over a decade ago and having worked in the insurance industry in the past knowing how they like to avoid paying out I thought it a prudent move.

As a volunteer not in receipt of VA, but receiving mileage reimbursement, the insurance confirmed I would need business cover. This would be the case for any volunteering if anything other than mileage was being paid.

“Damn!” I thought this could be expensive but hey VA will cover it along with HTD so started to get a revised quotes. Price dropped by 400 quid 🤷

I would love to know how they deem it lower risk.

Yep, especially when I was a young driver I found that adding business use reduced my premium by hundreds of pounds. Bizarre!

1 Like

dropped by £400???

I can’t remember when I last paid £400/year for car insurance…must have been when I was “reckless” in my 20s driving!

1 Like

I have my eldest on the policy as well until they finish University, being a meanie I get 2 quotes, one based on just me and one for both of us and she pays the difference.

1 Like

Regardless of role within the RAFAC if you are to carry other RAFAC passengers you need business insurance.

Selfishly…

Adding business has always added a fairly large chunk of cost onto my insurance, which I can’t afford

So I refuse to do it unless I can claim it back which I’m never allowed

3 Likes

It’s never cost me anything to add it on but then it’s never got me a discount either. I’ll do two quotes next time though, without and then with, see if it makes a difference :wink:

Direct line include business insurance as standard

As do Aviva

Got caught out insuring with Direct Line many years ago so will not use them.

Useful to know cheers