Blue, Bronze Radio Training

I have given a number of Blue and Bronze radio courses over the last few months and have been thinking about the way we teach radio in the corps especially having completed my BTEC Level 3 training (Old PTLLS qualification) which really opened my eyes with regards to teaching methods.

It seems rather lacking that we are trying to teach radio purely from Powerpoint presentations but don’t include any type of audio content which the cadets could use for revision purposes, at least none that I have found! Surely the best way to teach radio, being a primarily audio experience is to provide audio examples!

Does anyone have, or know of, any good audio examples of ATC/Military levels of radio conversations that could be used for training? If not then I intend to put some together but don’t want to re-invent the wheel so to speak.

My only slight problem with radio is that I occasionally flip flop between modes as I am a Class A radio amateur (G0ZAP) as well as a civilian flying instructor and obviously an ATC radio instructor (Blue, Bronze and Silver) which can result in the occasional isolated errors until I get 100% into the appropriate mode - hence my occasional use of “Standby 1” instead of Wait, among others!

I am thinking of about 20-30 sample recordings ranging from very simple basic communications to quite complex net examples covering the Blue and Bronze syllabi (or is that syllabuses … ) . As for the Silver Syllabus this may also be a useful future addition but the cadets should really have all the basic knowledge before they embark on this course anyway.

So, can anyone else help with an existing audio resource and if I do end up generating some content would others be interested in receiving it or even helping in its production.

Any input would be appreciated.

Dave Crozier
1969 (Rossendale) Training Officer.

I am not aware of anything like that but I agree it would be useful.