How upto date is RAF MOD site

I am trying to further my knowledge re RAF but their site seems to conflict with other sites and indeed with different Squadron sites, which is correct.

RAF website is sadly out of date. One may suspect this is propaganda as the actual size scale and deployment is significantly less than what’s displayed. What in particular are you finding conflict about?

It’s very out of date. I’m studying for my SNCO board and have had to pick info off various different sources in order to make it current.

There are so many significant errors, it is laughable. RAF Media should be ashamed of themselves.

Answer: the RAF site has out of date information, other websites have out of date information, some are vaguely in date. It’s a modern problem brought about by Mr Berners-Lee! That said, some of the RAF stuff is horrendously out of date and inaccurate to start with.

It doesn’t take long to update the information on websites, especially if it’s part of your job and you’re getting PAID to do it. This was pointed out to someone at work in their annual appraisal, who thought there would be some sympathy from others … there wasn’t.

You would like to think that especially when it’s taxpayers money involved that people would be held to account more. Surely we as the people who pay for the public sector would like to know the current situations wrt to our money being spent.

If people are looking for info the senior appointments page is useful for changes in commands etc etc etc. This never seems to be much out of date due to the people involved.

Cut backs. No one is being paid to do it. RAF website is handle by a media company who had their budget cut. Only the basics get done such as monitoring, hosting, missing links and the focus will be on the careers arm which changes more often and is more important. Get used to it.

Pick any 2
You can have it now, you can have it right, you can have it on budget.

1 Like