Parading over Christmas

I’ve been knocking around the organisation for a few years now but in all the units i’ve been associated with none have paraded over the festivities. However i’ve noticed more and more on social media announcing what they are up to like it’s something special that they are still parading and others’ are not. Now, this may have always been an occurance and with the increase in social media i just get to hear about it more, but that begs the question…

Do you? and why/not?

Nope the reason being we all need a break and Christmas is the only time we stand the sqn down

We always shut up shop over the Winter holidays (typically in line with the school break), but at no other time unless there are no staff left to run the squadron (which I think has happened twice in the last decade)

We have had cadet activities taking place while the squadron is stood down though (christmas eve bag-packs for instance) and that requires communication and coordination. Beforehand we would have needed to square everything away before the break but the Internet allows us to keep badgering people and feeding updated info.

I’ve never paraded over the Christmas/New Year period even as a cadet as
1 we all need a break (what my cadet COs said)
2 people aren’t around

Overall it’s just nice not having to worry about it for a couple of weeks.

More so the increasing phenomena of cadets whose parents have parted (much more than when I was younger) and they spend ‘quality time’ with the one they don’t live with. Nearly two thirds of my cadets are in this situation.

I stand down for two weeks in the summer holiday period for essentially the same reasons.

[quote=“glass half empty 2” post=14599]
I stand down for two weeks in the summer holiday period for essentially the same reasons.[/quote]

That’s interesting too. Do you expect a good attendance at other times in the summer, or a Laissez-faire approach?

Stop just before Christmas and return in line with school returns.