OASC Dates for Teachers

Hi all,

I’m a teacher and currently a CI but looking to go for commission.

I’ve already started off the process and wanted to get a better idea of how long it would all take as obviously a lot of it is dependent on course dates and that was always going to be limited for me as I obviously can’t take time off during term time (even funerals can be difficult in my school!!). All of the dates on Sharepoint are during term time - mid May, mid June, mid September, late October (annoyingly the week AFTER the October holidays) and mid November. There are no dates up yet for next year and no previous dates so not sure if I might get lucky with Easter next year??

Anyone been in the same/similar position? How did you get round it?

We had a teacher going SNCO just after the SNCO started and the lack of ATF courses in school holidays was lamentable and it took 18 months to get on one.
So I imagine that OASC are no different.
Stay as a CI and enjoy the ATC.

The irony is teachers are one of the groups that the ATC goes after when doing a push for staff. I think this is because HQAC think they get lots of holiday and will be able to do lots of things with cadets. Which I found not to be the case.

1 Like

I heard that they were going to be doing some OASC courses this year aimed at accomodating teachers.

Check the commissioning section on BADER for the upcoming dates.

That doesn’t give me much hope!!

To be honest, I’ve been quite happy as a CI and I certainly have no intention of leaving the ATC any time soon. But I already do the job of an officer and put in as much time, if not more, than a lot of uniformed staff and I’m starting to think that actually, it’s not particularly fair that other staff are getting paid for the same (or less) just because they wear the uniform.