New CI wanting to become officer

Hello everyone,

It is my first post and it’s been an interesting read so far. My question is as follows:

I’m a new CI to a squadron and ever since being in cadets at a young age I have an ambition to commission as an officer. My background and qualifications include, being in cadets for 2 years, getting my A levels and going to uni. I have been an officer cadet at a University Royal Naval Unit (Navy equivalent of the Uni Air Squadron) for 3 years and I’ve now started civi full time pilot training. I’ve had a life long interest and love of the RAF and commissioning as an officer would be a dream come true. I fully understand what it means to do so but I would like to know your advice on what I should do/get involved in to become the perfect candidate? I’m currently getting involved in teaching the flying side of the ATC syllabus as that’s what i’m good at. I’m keeping a good level of fitness. What else can I do to be that perfect candidate?

Thanks for taking the time to read!

1 Like

Be able to explain why you wish to be an officer rather than a SNCO, explaining the difference between them / their roles.

Fyi, the fitness bit is irrelevant; no fitness testing for RAFAC!

1 Like

TBH, none of what you’ve said has anything to do with the role of a commissioned, uniformed CFAV - lots about wanting to be an RAF officer, but very little about the role you’re asking about.

3 Likes

I would echo directly what @angus has said.

It sounds very much like you just want to add something else to your CV.
You’ve ‘just started teaching’ some classifications. I Suggest you try and understand what an Officer in the Corps does. For a start you were only a cadet for 2 years.
You have a hell of a lot to learn.

Most importantly work out which you would be happy looking back on if labelled as: