Leadership in the Field

Morning guy’s,

I’ve been a long time lurker viewing all the posts and getting a lot of useful info from all of you which I thank you all for.
I’ve been tasked with running a leadership in the field exercise at my Sqn for our potential NCO’s.

I usually do some form of patrolling with each cadet taking the IC and 2ic role so each of them get a chance to experience these roles and myself and the other staff can assess their ability to lead a small group.

What I’m asking is if anyone has any ideas of how I can do this. I have been running it like this for a few years now and just feel I could achieve this task a lot better and make it much more exciting for the cadets which are the reason I’m here. Just looking for an exciting mini exercise of leadership in the field if anyone can help that would be fab.

[quote=“Op Tac” post=16539]
I usually do some form of patrolling with each cadet taking the IC and 2ic role so each of them get a chance to experience these roles and myself and the other staff can assess their ability to lead a small group.

What I’m asking is if anyone has any ideas of how I can do this. I have been running it like this for a few years now and just feel I could achieve this task a lot better and make it much more exciting for the cadets which are the reason I’m here. Just looking for an exciting mini exercise of leadership in the field if anyone can help that would be fab.[/quote]

First things first, it is a Section Commander not an IC - IC doesn’t make sense :).

What you need to establish is what you are allowed to do in the field, as it will affect how you can practice it. Patrolling is only going to give you so much experience as there is far more to the roles than just leading a section/fire team on a patrol. How long do you intend to run the “exercise” and what kind of area do you have?