Journey to becoming a CI

Hi all

After a few years away from cadets I thought it was time to return and ‘do my bit’. I’m a commercial pilot (rotary) and with a military background, I’m sure my experience and insights would benefit cadets.

My aim would be to tip up to a squadron, most likely once a week, to offer my support and assist wherever possible. My career and my family need me the rest of the time - fact. So, I’m not planning on wearing another uniform anytime soon (or ever probably) but I thought that the RAFAC would appreciate any help offered.

It was a surprise to see more application forms than I’ve had hot dinners arrive on my doorstep and I completely understand the child protection part of it, of course that makes complete sense. But to jump through the number of hoops to apply, be interviewed, attend a course when all I want to do is offer my free time and not become your new commandant; it all seems rather overkill and is off-putting.

I was wondering if many people actually join as a CI now? After reading through a number of the posts on this forum, morale seems pretty low and I can almost see why.

Thanks for your time and thank you for all you’re doing.

LHD

2 Likes

Sounds like your experience would be appreciated and definately benefit the cadets.

This is an issue that has been brought up a lot. The amount of paperwork needed to join is sadly ever increasing.

Most of us would likely agree that the amount you have to do before you can even show up is getting ridiculous.

Take what you see on here with a big grain of salt. Like, a really really big grain of salt. Like a whole salt flat or something.