JL Questions

After a whole year of if and buts, I’ve decided to go ahead and train for QJL selection in 2019. Although I have some knowledge of the course, I would like to know as much as possible in terms of fitness requirements and what qualities they look for during the selection process. I have already started to train for selection, and hoping to pass and continue on. Furthermore, I’d like to know how to apply for Jl from sqn -
Many thanks,
-T

Application happens once a year. I think you might have missed this year’s selection, but I can’t remember seeing it.

It’s quite well publicised in terms of fitness criteria and I’m sure if you search on here there are some guides.

1 Like

it has been a while since i was on a Sqn which sent candidates each year

From what I remember selection occurs in September the key one here is physical fitness.
Be able to run the distance and other (sit up/press ups in line with RAF fitness I suspect) - and it is best to be able to smash it not just cross the line.

There is also an interview stage, basic check you’re mentally mature enough for the course material and format.

There might also be some team tasks to check your leadership/teamworking skills.

Best advice is ask around your wing to speak to someone who has been.

1 Like

Thinking ahead is a good idea. You’ve missed the bus for JL20, but are on the right path for next year.

The fitness test at selection is the classic one, 1.5mile run, press-ups, sit-ups. The standards are well publicised both by the RAF and in the selection paperwork, ask your staff to dig out this year’s documents.