Interview for Officer

Hi there,

I will hopefully shortly be having my interview with our OC TEST for commissioning. (I’m with a school CCF contingent)

I have plenty of thoughts on what I have to offer and hope to gain from moving from CI to an officer, but wondered if those of you with more experience, could offer any opinions on other topics or qualities they maybe looking for?

I don’t have a RAF background, so have a degree of catch up to play with detailed RAF knowledge.

Thanks in advance,

S

That is exactly the question I was asked in my pre filter interview interview.
I’m not sure I’ve nailed the answer, or even that there is a clear answer!
The other one was ‘why do you want to be an officer?’

Hi,

Well there’s no easy answer to this, and I possibly have more to gain than I give.

But moving to a role as a officer, I feel I’m giving a further signal as to how important this is to me, I’m making a commitment to learn more and do more.

I think that it also sends a signal to the cadets, I’m putting in the hours and going through many of the learning curves that they are. I’m learning drill, I’m making mistakes and I’m improving. So I help it will go some way to earning more respect from them (they are polite and respectful, but I think it’s good for them to see an adult pushing themselves too).

There are also some pracitcal reasons as our section is understaffed. There are times when I need to be the ic for an evening and this would be more appropriate as an officer.

I’m really passionate about the CCF, having seen it initially as a parent and what it gave to my son in his first year… I want to be part of keeping it going and ensuring as many of our schools students experience this as possible. So we need the right size team to help our section grow!

Does that help?

S

2 Likes