How to make leading lessons more engaging

I’ve been doing put in-charge of teaching the airmanship lessons at leading level on my sqn, and I was wondering if anybody’s got any ideas on making lessons a bit more interactive. I ask as many questions as I can, but I want them to be able to take away from the lessons as much as they can.
TIA

maybe show aircraft scenarios etc (with the knowledge they have learnt) eg: diagrams and interactive questions regarding them etc. hope this helps :slight_smile:

1 Like

If you have a flight sim on the Squadron you might be able to demo some aspects using that (I’m not an expert in things like the Air Traffic modules but there are people on here who are!)

1 Like

Rules of the air.

Make red and green slides for the epailettes, and after teaching the cadets how aircraft givenway to each other, get them to go outside and run a small scenario. Aiming to cross on front of each other…and report who gives way to who.

First problem is always making sure the cadets get their Port and Stbd the right way round…

You’ll be surprised how many cadets end up walking into each other. Lol.

We mixed the scenario up later on, by having a cadet slowly walking round with a beachball above their head…acting as a balloon. Although one girl decided she was wearing it under her jumper. Lol…

Get them to ask, who gives way to who? Who has tight if way in the heirarchy in the sky…

Edit …and obviously, get them to take them off when finished, to avoid any ussues with your local Warrant Officer… :roll_eyes:

3 Likes

Alternatively do this with spinny office chairs :smiley:

I am at cadet rank, however have got my leading badge and I know how I feel when I am learning. What I find silly is when the person teaching does not give me chance to take any notes, perhaps because on my sqn I am the only one who takes notes, but it would be great if instead of rushing through there were opportunities to take notes and ask follow up questions.