How do i stand out?

Evening all.

I got my jnco course feedback, and im slightly confused about the personal note my staff added. They said that i should try to stand out because i mostly blend in with other cadets. The reason that i was sent on the course was because the jncos on my squadron and some cadets had recommended me and they also saw me fit for the position but that i have a lot of work to do and experience to gain. What i would like to know is how i stand out? Ive already helped with teaching drill, taking flights on parade, been on the drill team, done banner drill on rememberance sunday, and done some odd jobs here and there for staff. I think they may mean that i should stand out personality wise, like being more loud and confident? I just find it hard sonetimes as i want to stay in my lane. Just want to know if anybody knows any other ways that i could potentially stand out to staff?

1 Like

Hope you enjoyed your JNCO course.

Developing confidence takes time but is definitely something useful when going for promotions. I wouldn’t be concerned so much about “staying in your lane”, obviously be respectful & respect boundaries, but also to stand out you do need to push out of your lane in some regard.

As for standing out, come up with some ideas for running a night / teaching a lesson and ask if you can have a go at running them (e.g. running a First Aid Exercise night, with the first half being lessons to cover the second halfs ‘exercise’), plan out the timings, what staff are required, what quals are needed & the briefs for the night. Helping run nights will certainly put you in the limelight over other cadets. Don’t be disheartened if the staff / NCOs say no to the ideas though (it’s initiative either way); they should at least give feedback or direction.

3 Likes