Form TG21 & 23

I have just spent a happy hour checking the paperwork for an activity tomorrow. As a humble volunteer it is my task to check that the forms are all in order. I have another heap of them to check for another activity on Sunday. Some of the cadets are going on both activities, so I am checking the same information twice.

Since the TG21 (and TG23) has no expiry date some of them will have been filled in months ago when the activities were first mooted.

One of the cadets has promised to bring a form to parade tonight, one other looks like arriving with it at 0755 tomorrow morning. I am, presumably, expected to check that by the roadside before driving the minibus.

I am a volunteer who will not only lead the activity, but I am also a minibus driver for the day. To those jobs add clerk. I repeat I am a volunteer.

I am sure putting everything on one piece of paper looked very efficient to the people who originated the form, but the truth is the only thing on it that is activity specific is the parents permission. All the rest could be an annual or quarterly completion, checked once, with the originals held on file and either photocopied or (a bit modern here) held on the squadron server. Remember, the TG21 has no time limit already, so going out of date is not an issue.

The upshot would be that I would only have to check a parent’s permission for each activity and could get on with all the other volunteer tasks of the day.

If you need someone to re-draft the form(s) I will offer to do it. Oh, I forgot, I am a volunteer and not nearly important enough.

Just off to collect the minibus because there isn’t time tomorrow morning.

1 Like