Flight Simulator for Sqn

Hello
We are based in Leicester and looking to establish a flight sim facility for cadet training - not for gaming.
Is there an Air Cadet Syllabus/Instructors Guide for flight simulator lessons?
Is there an ATC ‘guru’ who can help me with how best to approach this? Not looking to reinvent the wheel.
I am a CAA Flying Instructor and former A2 but not a flight sim expert. Which software, hardware, is VR now viable? etc etc.
Budget not an issue as we can access funding and we have space allocated in a separate room.
Any help greatly received
Terry Moyes

There was a previous thread that showed a nice rig (we have a simpler set-up at our sqn, using XPLane); not aware of any strict syllabus / guide as such.

However, useful to follow basic scenarios, Effects of Controls, etc, as per the Blue Flying Syllabus.

1 Like

I have heard rumour that an official flight sim syllabus is on the cards… but goodness knows how long it is before something materialises.
@MikeJenvey has good points above.

We built our own sim and have multiple setups now.
Following a basic lesson plan for each cadet.

1. Straight and level.
  2. Turns.
  3. Taxiing.
    Etc etc pretty much just as a ppl, but reduced to a sim set up.

Costa vary wildly, depending on what you’re after and if all new kit.
If new, I would budget £1500.00 for a basic 1 station set up.

Good luck with it.

its worth being aware that Blue wings will soon be deliverable at squadron level.
as far as a training syllabus to used in the mean time, the Flying Scholarship and Gliding scholarship training manuals have been broken down into lesson plans and can be found on here on the ACC Drive.

As for talking to people, I’d recommend talking to your Region Activity Centre Coordinator who will probably point you to the IT support team.

Care to share?

Is this via simulator? Or PowerPoint or something else?
Thanks

If this is true then that’s an amazing step in the right direction