Does anyone know if you get a blue music badge for playing ukulele

I’ve been playing ukulele for over 3 years now and can confidently play at a grade 3 ( possibly higher) . Though I’ve been struggling to get find if I can play it and get a music badge for it . Does anyone know the answer ?

Might be wrong but if you have a grade, maybe at Grade 5, before you can gain the badge.

Check with staff.

1 Like

Blue is grade 3, bronze 5, silver 8, gold is playing in one of the RAFAC national ensembles (which usually only require grade 5).

Pretty sure any instrument can get the badge, it would be the lyre badge for ukelele. I don’t have the relevant policy to hand so don’t quote me 100%

You’ll need to have a chat with your Squadron Staff and/or Wing Bandmaster.

ACTO 123 is where youll find what you need for each badge (Grade 3 = Blue, Grade 5 = Bronze, Grade 8 = Silver (copies of certificates required) or signed off by a suitably qualified person (blue only))

However, i cant see Ukelele in the ACTO which is why i would suggest you ask your staff to reach out to the Wing Bandmaster

1 Like

Hi there,
In reference to ACTO 123, there is a table of accepted instruments (Annex A).
Unfortunately, the Ukulele is not listed.

Requirements for the Blue Badge in music:

a. By passing a recognised music board examination at grade 3 (practical) in one of the
instruments listed in the Table at Annex A. (The Blue Badge Logbook is to be annotated
accordingly).
b. By providing an expert witness testimony (EWT) (ie. school music teacher) that they
play one of the instruments listed in the Table at Annex A to grade 3 standard. (The Blue
Badge Logbook is to be annotated accordingly).
c. By assessment by a competent person that they have demonstrated their ability to
play one of the instruments listed in the Table at Annex A to the levels described in Annex B.

Here is the table:

1 Like

Apologies. I stand corrected

1 Like

It’s basically an acoustic guitar though right? :wink: