Changing parade night

As a staff team, we are discussing changing one of our parade evenings. We have our own building so it is definitely feasible.

Has anyone done this? If so how did you go about it? Who did you inform? (How) did you consult cadets/parents?

Thanks!
Oryx

Going back a few years but one of my old squadrons changed nights. Tuesday & Thursday to Tuesday & Friday.

Parents got an letter saying we were changing and a date of change, we got one parent complain but the cadet didn’t exactly have the best attendance anyway, we actually saw them more after the change than before.

Win/Win in our situation.

We were forced to change about 16 years ago from Monday/Thursday to Monday/Wednesday because the ACF decided they wanted to parade on Thursdays, and we were told as it was “their building” they have primacy.

I think we just informed people in advance by letter.

Happened to my unit when I was a unit officer to avoid the ACF parade evenings.

We just sent letters to parents and let the Wing execs know.

Update any websites and social media presence in advance.

Bad drills, if you dont tell them you have changed then you never get a visit :wink:

1 Like

Not entirely related… but i’d be cautious if you’re changing to a Friday. A sqn near me did this and nearly halfed their attendance and reduced the size of their future intakes.

On the flip side a Unit i know who didn’t have their own building, but was a community hall, moved into thier own building and so could choose their nights rather than have it dictated by when the facilities were available,

there was a poll which when out to the Cadets and Parents and despite the Staff wishes to move from a Friday night there was a significant majority who wanted to stick with the Friday night.