Camp - Watersports

Hi!

I have been selected for a camp which includes watersports. I am not good at swimming at all and would definitely not be able to pass a Proficiency Test on the day. Is it possible for me to just not take part in that activity?

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Dominic

Absolutely. No one will force you to do something you don’t want to do! They may encourage that you give it a go. But assuming this is something like kayaking on a lake, you’ll need the proficiency to even give it a try afaik.

2 Likes

Worry not about passing a proficiency test. Nobody is expecting you to be of a competitive swimming standard - and not being able to swim unaided shouldn’t be a blocker for participation!

There is a Cadet Forces Water Safety Test which is also available and provides a solid alternative to those who are less confident swimmers and ensures you can participate (if you want) and is more inclusive in its approach. For starters you wear a Personal Floatation Device - so keeping your head above the water is no longer a show stopper!

Full details are in ACATI 29 - extracted below for reference…

CF Water Safety Test . The aim of the Cadet Forces Water Safety Test is to ensure that cadets do not panic and remain able to accept assistance on finding themselves in the water. The individual should wear normal boating clothing and a Personal Floatation Device (PFD) normally a 50/80N buoyancy aid. The following protocol should be followed:

a. Enter deep water by stepping off the side.

b. Swim 25m.

c. Tread water/float for 1 minute.

d. Exit water with assistance if required

If you can pass this, you will be able to take part. But it will also give you confidence in your PFD - that it works and keeps you afloat. The test is designed to reassure you that you can do all the things you would be expected to do should you take an unplanned dunking in a water based session.