Another air cadet forum?

I am thinking of creating a website on wix for all air cadets everywhere can discuss stuff… a bit like this one but more simple as I’m not that good at computers. Any one interested in joining the site if I make it??

What is it that you’re having trouble with on this site?

Is there anything that you want to know about or functions you want to find/have explained?

Not sure how great an uptake you’d have for a rival, considering the myriad of Facebook groups, this site, and the ACC Discord…

There is also Air Cadet 101 and probably a few more similar sites.

2 Likes

seconded - what is this site not doing that a rival site would be able to achieve?

1 Like

There used to be another one…I think it died years ago as this was the one mostly used

1 Like

Aircadet dot net (edited to remove auto link because it’s long dead)

Set up by Holywood sqn, iirc. Died in about 2008, no support and barely around a dozen active users at the time, 99% of whom were cadets.

Was the old php.bb format. Did it’s job well for a good long while, mind.

For a person who self professes to be “not good at computers” I would have thought that creating a brand new forum website from scratch (albeit using Wix) would be far more challenging than learning the tricks to this one.

6 Likes

i do recall 3822. org or similar once existing too…?

1 Like

I was a long time member of AirCadet . net

At the time being a cadet it was much more aimed at that age range than ACC which seemed to be predominantly aimed at staff members.

There are alot of Cadets on the ACC Discord :wink:

Discord is 4 years old. I’m going back nearly 15 years when things like that didn’t exist :joy:

1 Like

alright grandpa :wink:

2 Likes

…when most of those cadets didn’t exist!

Pretty sure I was the last mod there before it got taken over by spambots. It was a shame, good community and my first real foray into an online world.